DA MPLs elected to senior roles within KZN Legislature

Issued by Francois Rodgers, MPL – Leader of the DA in the KZN Legislature
09 Jul 2024 in Press Statements

The DA in KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) welcomes the election of three of its Caucus Members to senior office-bearer roles within the provincial Legislature.

The appointments were made during a Sitting held earlier today, with the following DA MPL’s elected unopposed;

• KZN Legislature CoGTA portfolio committee Chairperson – Marlaine Nair, MPL

• KZN Legislature Health portfolio committee Chairperson – Dr Imran Keeka, MPL

• KZN Legislature SCOPA portfolio committee Chairperson – Tim Brauteseth, MPL

The candidates are all seasoned politicians and bring a wealth of experience and skill to their new roles.

Marlaine Nair, MPL is the former DA KZN Legislature Spokesperson on Human Settlements and Public Works. She is a former member of the eThekwini Ethics committee and the DA Economic Development and Planning spokesperson in the Metro. Marlaine is the current DA KZN Fundraising Chairperson, a member of the DA Federal Legal Commission and serves on the DA KZN Finance, Management and Executive committees.

Dr Imran Keeka, MPL returns to the DA KZN Legislature Caucus for a third term, having been re-elected as Chief Whip. He was the DA KZN Spokesperson on Health from 2014 to 2019 before becoming DA KZN Spokesperson on Education until 2024. He has also served on Legislature’s Quality of Life (QOL) Standing Committee for the past eight years. Dr Keeka is a member of the DA Federal Council, the Provincial Executive and Provincial Disciplinary committee. He was also a member of the party’s Technical Task Team, established to form a working relationship between the DA and IFP during the last term.

With more than 20 years as a forensic financial investigator within the private sector, Tim Brauteseth, MPL (view here) brings a wealth of experience to his new role. He served as an eThekwini Councillor from 2011 to 2014 before becoming DA Spokesperson on the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (SCOPA) in the National Assembly until 2019. In 2019 he became KZN’s permanent delegate to the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) and DA Spokesperson on Transport, Public Works and Public Service.

The DA notes the absence of uMkhonto weSizwe (MK) at today’s important Sitting and the departure of the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) from the House during proceedings. This is a slap in the face to those in our province who have given these parties a mandate to serve them.

The DA wishes its newly installed office-bearers all the best in their new roles. We have every confidence that they will work hard to make a difference as we strive to improve the lives of all KZN’s citizens.