DA announce changes to KZN Legislature Caucus portfolios

14 Dec 2021 in Press Statements

(Note to Editors: The updated list of all DA KZN Legislature MPL’s, their respective portfolios and contact details is available here)

The Democratic Alliance (DA) in the KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) Legislature has taken the decision to reshuffle several Members’ portfolios with immediate effect.

The changes come after new DA MPL, Mmabatho Tembe was sworn in last week. This after the departure of DA MPL, Chris Pappas who is now the Mayor of uMngeni municipality.

The changes have been made with the goal of ensuring that the DA continues to serve the people of KZN as a strong and effective opposition in the provincial legislature.

The following portfolio changes have been made;

Member                                                        Previous portfolio                                      New portfolio

Mmabatho Tembe                                      N/A                                                               Social Development

Elma Rabe                                                   Social Development                                   Agriculture

Martin Meyer                                             Agriculture                                                   COGTA

The DA believes that the skills of these dedicated individuals will be put to good use in their respective new portfolios as they continue their important work within the Legislature.

We remain committed to serving the people of our province to the very best of our ability in order to improve the lives of all communities.