DA KZN announces new caucus leadership

15 Nov 2021 in Press Statements

The Democratic Alliance in KwaZulu-Natal successfully held caucus elections to elect new leadership in local municipalities across the province.

Voting was done via OpaVote, an electronic platform which enabled every councillor to elect their new caucus leader, caucus chairperson, deputy chief whip and other positions that may have been available.

In eThekwini, the following people were elected:

Caucus Leader – Nicole Graham

Caucus Deputy Leader – Mzamo Billy

Caucus Chairperson – Riona Gokool

Caucus Deputy Chairperson – Warren Burne

Caucus Deputy Chief whip – Nicole Bollman


In Msunduzi, the following people were elected:


Caucus Leader – Ross Strachan

Caucus Deputy Leader – Nomathemba Phungula

Caucus Chairperson – Michael Bond

Caucus Deputy Chairperson – Daniel Kemp

Caucus Deputy Chief whip – Douglas Roberts

As the presiding officer, I am satisfied that the election was done in terms of our rules and it was free and fair.

The DA in KZN has faith that this new crop of leaders will ensure that the DA holds those in power to account and acts as a strong opposition party where we are in such a position. They will also prioritise the needs of voters and advance DA policy so that we can get things done.

In time to come, the DA Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) will consider recommendations by the new caucus leaders on Executive Committee (EXCO) and Chief Whip appointments.